Amy Prieto

Department of Chemistry
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO. 80523-1872
Phone: (970)491-1592
Fax: (970)491-1801
Office: C103


University of California, Berkeley, CA
PhD in Inorganic Chemistry (2001)
Dissertation: Electrodeposition of Nanostructured Thermoelectric Materials
(Professor Angelica M. Stacy)

Williams College, Williamstown, MA
B.A. in Chemistry and Philosophy, Honors in Chemistry (1996)
Honors Thesis: The Synthesis and Characterization of Precursors to Zirconium-Containing Liquid Crystals
(Professor Lee Young Park)

Professional Experience

Founder, Chief Executive Officer / Chief Scientific Officer (6/09 – present), Prieto Battery, Inc., Fort Collins CO.
Professor, (7/17- present) Chemistry Department, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO.
Associate Professor, (7/12- 7/17) Chemistry Department, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO.
Assistant Professor, (7/05- 7/12) Chemistry Department, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, (3/02-5/05) Harvard University, Cambridge, MA. (Professor Hongkun Park)
Graduate Research Assistant, (8/96-12/01); Postdoctoral Research Fellow, (12/01-3/02) University of California, Berkeley, CA. (Professor Angelica M. Stacy)
Cooperative Research Fellow, (6/96-8/96) Lucent Technologies, Bell Labs, Murray Hill, NJ. (Dr. Lynn F. Schneemeyer)
Undergraduate Research Assistant/Honors Student, (6/95-6/96) Williams College, Williamstown, MA. (Professor Lee Y. Park)
National Science Foundation-Research Experience for Undergraduates, (6/94-8/94) Hope College, Holland, MI. (Professor Joanne Stewart)


Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) (2017)
Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award (2014)
Presidential Early Career Award (PECASE) (2012)
Margaret B. Hazaleus Award honors those whose efforts at Colorado State University have “ served to enhance the environment for women on campus and professionally, served as a role model for women, and/or contributed to our understanding and knowledge about women and girls in society.” (2012)
Colorado Cleantech Industry Association award for Excellence in Storage Technology Commercialization (2011)
ExxonMobil Solid State Chemistry Faculty Fellowship (2011)
NSF CAREER award (2010-2015)
Best Teacher Award Nominee, CSU Alumni Association (2008)
ACS/PROGRESS Dreyfus Lectureship Award (2007)
L’Oréal USA for Women in Science Fellowship (2004)
Best Poster Award (Materials Research Society, Fall 2000)
H. H. Dow Memorial Student Award of the Industrial Electrolysis and the Electrochemical Engineering Division of the Electrochemical Society (2000)
Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award (University of California, Berkeley, 1996)
Cooperative Research Fellowship (Lucent Technologies, Bell Labs, 1996-2001)
Sigma Xi (elected, 1996)
Class of 1960’s Scholar, Department of Chemistry (Williams College, 1995)
Watson Fellowship, Finalist (Williams College, 1995)


American Chemical Society, Materials Research Society, Electrochemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry